Inspirations

I began my career in photography by chance.  While I was living in Europe and modeling, I realized that I preferred being on the other side of the camera and giving direction instead of taking direction.  I was offered a job with Minolta and happily accepted payment in the form of a camera.  Since I already knew the fashion world, it was an easy conversion.  Clothing and makeup I knew…it was the lighting and the technical aspects of the camera that took time to learn and it was experience that became the best teacher.

I worked with fashion but my personal work was mainly portraiture. The definition of a “portrait” is a painting, photograph, sculpture, or other artistic representation of a person, in which the face and its expression is predominant.

Living in New York and just walking down the street with all those multi-ethnic faces surrounding you was totally inspiring.

So many beautiful faces!  Young, old, women, men…I came to the realization that the more I entered into the world of  photography…it was capturing the faces and expressions of those day to day people that enthralled and inspired me.

My first exhibition resulted from my first trip to Sabah to visit my father.  Entitled, Sabah, “Land Below the Wind”, I was able to capture images in longhouses which no longer exist.

Today, I have the opportunity to continue traveling to various parts of the world and continue to be inspired and touched by the beauty of humanity.

~ by latanaphotography on October 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
