Time Passed

It is New Years Day and I am listening to Frank Sinatra singing “September of My Years”, and for once, I am hearing the lyrics.  It is 2011, and for my umpteenth resolution, I have decided to take the time to observe life.

As a photographer, I thought that just being a visual person was enough.  Seize those moments that others don’t see and record them.  But if you study the really great photographs, those moments captured are not mistakes.  Those images are taken at the “Decisive Moment.”

According to Henri-Cartier Bresson, (considered to be the master of candid photography)…  he told the Washington Post in 1957:

“There is a creative fraction of a second when you are taking a picture. Your eye must see a composition or an expression that life itself offers you, and you must know with intuition when to click the camera. That is the moment the photographer is creative,” he said. “Oop! The Moment! Once you miss it, it is gone forever.”

I have hoped that in my career as a photographer, I have had the good fortune to create one or two of those perfect images. Certainly, there have been plenty to discard, but if we keep in mind, what defines that “Decisive Moment”…  well then; we can only produce better imagery.

So how does that pertain to my resolution, Frank Sinatra and the lyrics?

Another year has passed.   I am sure, like myself, you are wondering how time was able to slip so nimbly out of your hands and disappear.

My New Year’s resolution is to take hold of those precious moments that comprise a life and that, so often, are taken for granted.  Make them all “Decisive Moments”!  Greedily grasp on to them and to our loved ones and not wait until the… “September of our Years”.

“One day you turn around and it’s summer

Next day you turn around and it’s fall

And the springs and the winters of a lifetime

Whatever happened to them all?”



 

~ by latanaphotography on January 2, 2011.

One Response to “Time Passed”

  1. I cannot agree with your comments.

    In the Milagro Beanfield War movie of Robert Redford, the old man recounting the story days says when he wakes up and looks at his mirror: “God, thank you for giving me another day”.

    Jean-Paul

Leave a Reply

 
