Reviews

The artist and an executive

Sonshi.com’s Jessica Steindorff just got this book “Barely Exposed” and she’s obsessed with it. Jessica knows art and I haven’t a clue about art and in fact was kicked out of the High Museum in Atlanta because I was making noise and shaking polaroids. Stuck up snobs. But I digress. This wonderful book is by Latana, an artist of obvious talent. You can check out Latana’s website http://www.latanastudio.com to see her other awesome works. There, you’ll learn that one of her books was endorsed by the Dalai Lama himself!
http://forum.sonshi.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=3593

Reviews from Amazon.com:

5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully executed piece of art, November 2, 2010
By Jessica Steindorff

This review is from: Barely Exposed: How Do You See the World? (Hardcover)
I just finished “Barely Exposed” by Latana and thought it to be a wonderfully executed piece of art in itself. From the time I picked it up I had to finish it cover-to-cover. The beautifully eclectic quote un quote models that are portrayed make you feel as though you traveled the world and into a whole new mindset in just one sitting. It was fascinating to read how dissimilar yet alike the views ranging from California to Tahiti to France are and the rawness in the photographs of each young adult embody. I highly recommend this book to anyone desiring creativity in their lives for this book will open your eyes to such a different yet important world: the world of the youth of today and the future of tomorrow.

5.0 out of 5 stars CAGnSB, March 25, 2010
By CAGnSB (SB CA)

This review is from: Barely Exposed: How Do You See the World? (Hardcover)
I love Latana’s photography. It’s haunting, mysterious, and yes in this case a bit provocative. I especially love to get a glimpse into the mind of those many VERY attractive young adults. My children are older now but that age ( roughly between 14-25 ) was such an amazing time of discovery. I would love to see a follow up in a few years. I gave about 4 books as gifts so far and it was always a wonderful item to get an interesting conversation started. ” From the mouth of babe’s”…..Thank-You for producing my favorite art photography books that is in our collection.

5.0 out of 5 stars similarities and differences of the new generation all over the world, March 23, 2010
By Dannielle Bluysen

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Barely Exposed: How Do You See the World? (Hardcover)
Besides the beautiful, very natural pictures of all these young man and women it is very interesting to see that no matter where they are from these young people have similar preoccupations: the state of our world and what it means for their future with all the insecurities and dreams of their age. I really loved it and I think it is a wonderful gift even if you dont have children!

5.0 out of 5 stars A moving display of beauty and honesty in its purest form., March 21, 2010
By Everett Kelsey (Los Angeles, CA)

This review is from: Barely Exposed: How Do You See the World? (Hardcover)
‘Barely Exposed’ forced me to peak at vulnerabilities which I fight to stifle. It reminds me that it is exactly those honest vulnerabilities which make me strong.

5.0 out of 5 stars A Piece of Art, March 18, 2010
By Robin Kilroy (Malibu, CA.)

This review is from: Barely Exposed: How Do You See the World? (Hardcover)
A quality book – both beautifully photographed and insightful.
I highly recommend it.

5.0 out of 5 stars Take an enduring look at what our YOUTH can be., March 18, 2010
By TRancher “jeb” (Amarillo, Texas)

This review is from: Barely Exposed: How Do You See the World? (Hardcover)
“Excellent book for anyone who wants to take a more enduring look at what our world can be. The Youth of our planet will decide how to deal with what we have done to our earth, our governments, and our communities. There’s a purity in the images that Latana leads the reader to imagine what young people might see will be their life and what they will do. This is a book for refreshing the mind and the soul that a generation of smarter, brighter, and more energetic citizens of this globe will take the reins to achieve more than we have achieved. This book and it’s images bring us hope for the future. Just look into their eyes.”

5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful piece of art!!, March 15, 2010
By Virginia D. Henderson

This review is from: Barely Exposed: How Do You See the World? (Hardcover)
This book does not disappoint. It does an amazing job of communicating the thoughts and perspectives of young adults in our world today. The images are tasteful and full of emotion. The responses these young adults provided to the question “How do you see your world” are profound. Their mature thoughts range from hopeful to hopeless which is an accurate representation not only of young adult minds, but adults alike. I love the way Latana empowers these young adults to not only connect with their souls and world around them, but encourages them to share their insights with us. She captures their raw nature in such a beautiful way; you will really enjoy this unique piece of art!

5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, March 8, 2010
By Ross Bagdasarian “J. Karman” (Montecito, CA USA) – See all my reviews

This review is from: Barely Exposed: How Do You See the World? (Hardcover)
This is a fabulous book. It gives us an insight into the teenage mind while showing us unique and artistic photographs.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: